skip to main content

Masters of Math

Masters of Math Photo thumbnail77458

Three teams from R.C. Murphy Junior High School performed exceptionally well at this year’s Suffolk County Math Teachers Association Math League events and each took home first place prizes. The seventh grade team A, eighth grade team C and ninth grade team A took first place for their division. On top of that, seventh grade team A and ninth grade team A took first place for the county.

Murphy’s math team is a club that meets once a week from October to February. Students work on mathematics problems and compete monthly in different events. During the competitions, the students are separated by grade level and given a series of five questions, which get progressively harder. The scores are based on correct answers and tallied throughout the season. The team with the highest score at the end of the season wins the division. Those same scores are used to establish which teams have the highest scores for the county.   

The district proudly congratulates the following team members:

Seventh-Grade Team A - Division Winners/County Winners
Claire Yang
Carolyn Liu
Matthew Chen

Eighth-Grade Team C - Division Winners
Neil Mahta
Animesh Ghose
Jonah Pichler
Akshay Malhotra

Ninth-Grade Team A - Division Winners/County Winners
Christopher Moore
Jonathan Huang
Keene Lu

Sunday, September 15, 2019   |  District Home