THREE VILLAGE CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT OF **BROOKHAVEN AND SMITHTOWN**

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MAY 15, 2012

The Annual District Meeting of the Three Village Central School District of Brookhaven and Smithtown was held on Tuesday, May 15, 2012. The voting results are reported herewith, to wit:

POLLS OPENED At 6:00 A.M., Henry Koepchen, Chairperson for Election District #1; Martha Forte,

Chairperson for Election District #2; Mary Moeller, Chairperson for Election District #3; Kathleen Kerr, Chairperson for Election District #4; and Blake Edwards, Chairperson for Election District #5; announced that the polls were officially opened for the purpose of voting, by voting machine, for the propositions and Board of Education candidates as presented in the

tally portion of these minutes.

ED #1 -At Election District #1, Arrowhead Elementary School, the following members of the Board of

Arrowhead Registry and Election Inspectors were present:

Elementary

School – Board of Henry Koepchen, Chair Andrew Eichner Registry and Lisa Brellis,Co-chair Valerie Gabriele Election Louise Koepchen Caroline Manelski

Inspectors

ED #2 _ At Election District #2, Minnesauke Elementary School, the following members of the Board of

Minnesauke Registry and Election Inspectors were present:

Elementary School - Board of Martha Forte, Chair Dolores Crane Registry and Marion Paddock, Co-Chair Susan Koch Carole Sheehan Lisa Acampora-Johnson Election

Inspectors Jeannine Paetz

ED #3 -At Election District #3, W.S. Mount Elementary School, the following members of the Board of

W.S. Mount Registry and Election Inspectors were present:

Elementary School - Board of Mary Moeller, Chair Daniel Mirocco Mark Swerdloff, Co-Chair

Helen Rohr Registry and Election Janet Koenig Richard Wollenstein

Inspectors

ED #4 -At Election District #4, Nassakeag Elementary School, the following members of the Board of

Nassakeag Registry and Election Inspectors were present:

Elementary School - Board of Kathleen Kerr, Chair Steve Mitchell Registry and Barbara Lynch, Co-Chair Michael Shannon Election Gabrielle Giannotti Gail Wharton

Inspectors

ED #5 -At Election District #5, Setauket Elementary School, the following members of the Board of

Setauket Registry and Election Inspectors were present:

Elementary School - Board of Blake Edwards, Chair Eleanore Handley Registry and Ahmed Syed, Co-Chair Claire Kahn Election Annette Azzara Mary Jones

Inspectors Powell Bradshaw Dianne Tortso-Hahn

POLLS CLOSED At 9:00 P.M., Henry Koepchen, Chairperson for Election District #1; Martha Forte,

Chairperson for Election District #2; Mary Moeller, Chairperson for Election District #3; Kathleen Kerr, Chairperson for Election District #4; and Blake Edwards, Chairperson for Election District #5; announced that all remaining persons present who wished to vote, must do

so promptly, as the polls were officially closed.

TALLY

PROPOSITION #1 - ANNUAL BUDGET Shall the following resolution be adopted to wit:

RESOLVED, that the annual budget as proposed by the Board of Education of the Three Village Central School District, in the sum set forth in the budget estimate, heretofore filed pursuant to law, for the maintenance and upkeep of the schools and personnel of the District for the year July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013 be accepted, and that the necessary tax be levied therefor. Adoption of this budget requires a tax levy increase of 4.48% which exceeds the statutory tax levy increase limit for this school fiscal year of 2.99% and, therefore, exceeds the state tax cap and must be approved by 60 percent of the qualified voters present and voting.

YES - 3972 NO - 3051

Proposition failed with less than the required 60% super-majority.

PROPOSITION #2 - CAPITAL PROJECT RESOLVED, that the Board of Education of the Three Village Central School District is hereby authorized to expend Seven Hundred and Eighty Thousand Dollars (\$780,000) for the installation of new and upgraded equipment to existing gas services, gas meters and boiler room modifications at all of the District's school buildings.

YES - 4572 NO - 2358

Proposition carried with the required simple majority.

BOARD OF EDUCATION ELECTION To elect (2) members of the Board of Education, each for a three (3) year term commencing July 1, 2012, and expiring on June 30.

William F. Connors - 4438 Andrea Fusco-Winslow - 2889 Deanna Baylnka - 3957

William F. Connors was elected for the term of three (3) years commencing July 1, 2012, and expiring June 30, 2015.

Deanna Bavlnka was elected for the term of three (3) years commencing July 1, 2012, and expiring June 30, 2015.

The following each received write-in vote(s):

John K. Diviney 1 Ken Rottkamp 1 William Marrin 1 Arnold Feldman Sam Lefkowitz 1 Ron La Vita Jackie Rudman Robert F. Quinlan 1 Kim G. Brandeau 1 Mitch Eisenstein 1 JoAnn Rosen 1 Frank McIntosh 1

CALL TO ORDER Mr. Diviney called the meeting to order at 10:44 pm for the purpose of the certification of the Annual Meeting results.

Members present: John Diviney, President

Jonathan Kornreich, Vice President

Deanna Bavlnka, Trustee Inger Germano, Trustee Irene Gische, Trustee Jeffrey Kerman, Trustee Susanne Mendelson, Trustee

Members absent: All were present

Also present: Neil Lederer, Interim Superintendent of Schools

Cheryl Pedisich, Deputy Superintendent

Jeffrey Carlson, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services Gary Dabrusky, Asst. to the Superintendent for Human Resources

Andrea Wilson, District Clerk

Visitors

CHANGES IN THE MEETING AGENDA No changes were made to the meeting agenda.

ACTION ITEM

Declaration of Results and Minutes of the Annual Vote and Election held on May 15, 2012 WHEREAS, the Board of Education held its Annual Budget Vote and School Board Election on Tuesday, May 15, 2012,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Education accept the minutes of the Annual Meeting of May 15, 2012,

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Education hereby certifies the Declaration of Results submitted by the District Clerk enumerated in the minutes.

Motion was made by Mr. Diviney, seconded by Dr. Kerman, and carried by a 7-0-0 vote to approve the resolution as presented.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION There were no public participants at this time.

OTHER RELEVANT ITEMS None were presented.

MOVE INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION Mr. Diviney motioned to move into Executive Session at 10:47 pm in accordance with Open Meeting Law (f) personnel matters for particular person(s) (employment), seconded by Dr. Kerman and carried by a 7-0-0 vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Andrea Wilson District Clerk

ADJOURNMENT

The Board moved out of Executive Session at 11:50 pm.

There being no further business to be conducted, motion was made by Dr. Kerman, seconded by Mrs. Bavlnka, and carried by a 7-0-0 vote to adjourn the meeting at 11:51 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Inger Germano District Clerk Pro-Tem